Saturday, July 20, 2024
Mr. Bs Summer Clearnace Sale July header
Ontario Truck Training top add
HomeSportIshan Kishan Among Top Players Snubbed By BCCI. List Of 8 Stars...

Ishan Kishan Among Top Players Snubbed By BCCI. List Of 8 Stars ‘Ignored’

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had to make three changes to the Indian squad for the T20I series against Zimbabwe due to some players being stranded in Barbados. Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shivam Dube, and Sanju Samson, all part of the Indian team for the T20 World Cup 2024 campaign, were unable to depart from the island nation as a hurricane threat led to the government shutting down all flights. Consequently, the selectors named Harshit Rana, Jitesh Sharma, and Sai Sudharsan as replacements for the first two matches. Harshit and Sudharsan were rewarded for their exemplary performances in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, while Jitesh has been a contender for a couple of years.

However, these changes raised questions about the exclusion of other notable Team India stars such as Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Varun Chakravarthy, Mayank Yadav, Umran Malik, and Yash Dayal.

Ishan Kishan’s situation is particularly intriguing. Once an all-format player for the Indian team, Ishan requested a break after the South Africa tour. Following that period, various factors led the selectors to sideline him for the T20 World Cup 2024 squad. Reportedly, Ishan was asked to play in the Ranji Trophy for Jharkhand and other domestic events to be considered for selection, but he chose to train with Hardik Pandya for the IPL 2024 campaign. This decision apparently did not sit well with the BCCI officials and selectors, resulting in his exclusion from the Zimbabwe series despite Sanju Samson’s unavailability for the first two matches. Currently, Ishan is not even the fourth-choice wicket-keeper in the shortest format, with Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Dhruv Jurel, and Jitesh Sharma ahead of him.

Similar questions arise for other players like KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer, who were also not selected for the Zimbabwe tour. In the bowling unit, the absence of Varun Chakravarthy, Mayank Yadav, Umran Malik, and Yash Dayal raises concerns. Additionally, many believe that an all-rounder like Venkatesh Iyer could have been considered.

India’s squad for the T20Is vs Zimbabwe includes Shubman Gill (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, and Tushar Deshpande.

Changes for the first two T20Is: Harshit Rana, Sai Sudharsan, Jitesh Sharma.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisment -

Recent Comments